How Are You? (A Simple Yet Powerful Question)

How are you?”

 A short and simple message that can make all the difference during this period of our lives.

I used to hear this phrase from my favorite barista in Starbucks near our office.

I used to hear it from the security guard in our lobby who greets me with a smile every day.

I used to hear it from the Grab driver on my way to client meetings.

Normally, I would answer with the usual “I’m good, thanks” and would ask them how they are in return.

I engage with them whenever I can but there are days when I could only wish them a good day, smile and off I go with my daily hustle.


It’s been more than one and a half months since the lockdown was announced here in Manila.

It’s been more than one and a half months since the last time I drop by my favorite coffee shop near the office. Since I last saw the friendly guard in our lobby. Since I had a small talk with a Grab driver on my way to a client meeting.

It’s been more than one and a half months since I had what I used to call a “normal day”.


Our lives have changed in an instant. Our freedom has become limited. Our plans have been canceled.

This is definitely not something we asked for. We didn’t want any of this at all.

Yet, here we are, faced with the challenge of coping with what they call the “new normal”.


3 weeks ago, I was supposed to fly to New Zealand, but my flight has been canceled.

3 days before my supposed to be departure date, I received a call from Qantas airlines saying that they’re sorry for the inconvenience and that they are doing their best to process a complete refund for me.

I told the representative that she should not be sorry. I was broken-hearted that this trip didn’t happen, but it was out of our control.  It was beyond anyone’s control.

“Hundreds of flights were canceled”, she told me. “It’s sad news for us because we’re losing business but it’s probably more upsetting for our passengers because that could mean a missed opportunity to visit a loved one, to see friends, hug your parents after a long time, attend reunions or family events.”

She was right. They were more than just canceled tickets. They were precious times and moments that we have all been waiting for.

Truth be told, I cried after our call.


The past few weeks have shown me that when everything is uncertain, everything that is important becomes clear.

This is the time when we realize the things that we take for granted, who matters, and what matters to us the most.

I guess this shows us the irony and fragility of life.

We realize the value of someone or something when it’s out of our reach and when it’s almost impossible to have it. The most tragic of it all is to realize it, only to find out that it’s too late because it’s gone.


This ain’t easy. It’s a difficult time for everyone so it’s okay to not be okay.

It’s okay to feel anxious, worried, and scared but we all must do our part to survive.

One day at a time. Moment by moment.

Amidst this global crisis, we all have our own stories to tell. Our own battles to fight.

I think that kindness can go a long way these days. Open your hearts to those around you because they may be feeling just alone as you.

Sometimes, all we need is someone to listen. Someone to show you that you matter and someone cares for you.


Let’s not take for granted the power of reaching out and asking the simple question, “How are you?”

It can put a smile on someone else’s face. It can brighten up someone’s day.

It can give someone the hope they might need at the moment.

Hope is what we need more than ever. Hope is what makes us believe that one day: we will be reunited with the people we love. One day, the planes will fly soon, parks will be filled with children playing, coffee shops will be teeming with people chatting and we have all come out of this stronger and better.


The next time you ask a friend, a family member, or a loved one the words “How are you?”

Mean it.

Ask because you care.

It can make all the difference.

Leave a comment